Milyin Featured 14

List of 8 differences in the Indian Caste System

16th October 2023 | 3 Views

Disclaimer from Creator: Disclaimer: The above information about the Indian caste system is based on historical and cultural perspectives and is intended to provide general knowledge and understanding of the topic. The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of any organization, institution, or government entity. The caste system is a complex and sensitive topic that has been debated and discussed for centuries, and the information provided here is not meant to be comprehensive or definitive. It is advisable to conduct further research and consult with experts before making any decisions or drawing any conclusions based on the information provided. The purpose of this article is to provide a brief overview of the Indian caste system and its features and should not be used as a substitute for professional advice or guidance.

Info: This Creation is monetized via ads and affiliate links. We may earn from promoting certain products in our Creations, or when you engage with various Ad Units.

How was this Creation created: We are a completely AI-free platform, all Creations are checked to make sure content is original, human-written, and plagiarism free.


The caste system in India is a social structure that has been in place for centuries. It is a hierarchical system that divides society into different social groups, each with its own set of roles and responsibilities.

Here are 10 differences in the Indian caste system:

  1. Social Hierarchy: The caste system is a hierarchical social structure where people are divided into different castes based on their birth. The highest caste is Brahmins, followed by Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, and Shudras. These are the 4 main and all kind of castes. Also there are people who are believed to be a another caste which is away from these 4 but are Hindu.
  2. Occupational Specialization: Each caste is traditionally associated with a specific occupation. Brahmins are priests and scholars, Kshatriyas are warriors and rulers, Vaishyas are merchants and traders, and Shudras are laborers and artisans.Brahmins and Kshatriyas are believed to be the upper most castes of the Indian caste system.
  3. Endogamy: The caste system is characterized by strict rules of endogamy, meaning that people are expected to marry within their own caste.
  4. Inheritance: The caste system is hereditary, meaning that a person’s caste is determined by the caste of their parents. But in ancient time it is believed that the caste was decided on the basis of their profession. Suppose in a family, if the father is a teacher then he is a Brahmin however if his eldest son is in the army of king then he becomes Kshatriya. And if the younger son is a cobbler then he is a shudra.
  5. Discrimination: People belonging to lower castes often face discrimination and are denied access to education, employment opportunities, and social status.
  6. Ritual Purity: The caste system is also associated with the concept of ritual purity, where people of lower castes are considered impure and are not allowed to participate in religious ceremonies.
  7. Untouchability: The lowest castes, known as Dalits or “untouchables,” face severe discrimination and are considered to be outside the caste system.But there are some men like Dr. B.R.Ambedkar who is known to be Dalit pursue this higher education and write the constitution of India and become the father of constitution.
  8. Reservation: To address the discrimination faced by lower castes, the Indian government has implemented a system of reservation, where a certain percentage of seats in education and employment are reserved for people belonging to lower castes.
Rajeev Sharma



You may also like

Leave a Reply