Milyin Featured 21

Understanding the Stages of Hair Growth: A Comprehensive Guide

18th December 2023 | 4 Views

  • Anagen Phase: The Growth Stage
  • Catagen Phase: Transitional Period
  • Telogen Phase: Resting Stage
  • Exogen Phase: Shedding of Hair
  • Factors Affecting Hair Growth
  • Conclusion

Info: This Creation is monetized via ads and affiliate links. We may earn from promoting certain products in our Creations, or when you engage with various Ad Units.

How was this Creation created: We are a completely AI-free platform, all Creations are checked to make sure content is original, human-written, and plagiarism free.


Hair growth is a unique and complex phenomenon that passes through many phases for one to have strong hair. This process explains the myth of stages of hair growth and helps to understand why one goes bald and what treatment can be applied.

Woman Checking Hair Considering Prp Therapy 1

Hair development has many aspects; therefore, let us consider each step in this complicated process.

Anagen Phase: The Growth Stage

The hair follicle’s active growing phase is popularly called the anagen phase. This phase lasts between two and seven years; during this time, your hair is determined by how long, thick, and dense.

Cells in the root grow fast during anagen, thus resulting in new hair development, which squeezes the old one outside the follicle.

It should be noted that the anagen phase length differs between people and various regions. Thus, scalp hairs grow for a long duration of the anagen phase, achieving great lengths.

Catagen Phase: Transitional Period

The Catagen stage is the second stage, which follows the anagen phase and takes about two or three weeks. At this point, hair growth ceases while the outer root sheath becomes thin as it sticks to the hair root. Effectively speaking, it is preparing itself for a rejuvenation of the hair follicle.

The hair has stopped growing in catagen, though it remains in the follicle. At any point, only about one percent of your hair is at this phase.

Telogen Phase: Resting Stage

The last stage in the hair growth cycle is the telogen stage or rest phase. The hair stays in place from three to four months when it is finally shed. This creates room for new growth.

Approximately ten to fifteen percent of your hairs are in the telogen phase at any time. Hair loss in this phase is average, with individuals losing about fifty to one hundred strands of hair each day.

Exogen Phase: Shedding of Hair

Other scholars classify shedding into a different category known as “exogen telogen,” where the hair shedding happens as part of the process. During this step, a newly-grown hair pushes out the old one already released by the hair follicle.

It is crucial to understand these stages of hair growth because any disturbances in this cycle may lead to diseases like telogen effluvium and alopecia, which means that their normal growth cycle gets disturbed or stopped abruptly.

Factors Affecting Hair Growth

The length and health of each stage depends on several factors. Genetics is very impactful as it determines the duration or size of the anagen phase and what height thick hair can attain.

The others are age, hormonal changes, nutrition, stress, the presence of other health problems or drug treatment, and the influence of the environment. To attain an adequate balanced diet, limit stress, and good hair care contribute to healthy hair growth.


Hair grows through a cycle that includes different phases essential to keeping beautiful manes. The stages of hair growth in this sequence include Anagen, Catagen, Telogen, and sometimes Exogen.




You may also like

Leave a Reply